Water Quality and it's Effects on Hair

Hey friends, complete newbie here! I’m on day 2 of no shampoo (previously using natural bio shampoos and conditioners, no styling products, hair type: dyed blonde, straight-ish, shoulder length, lots of thin hair, normally greasy by day 3) but I am a bit concerned about water quality. I live in Paris and the water is full of limescale. Our bathroom and tea kettle always have white build up and I’ve noticed since moving here my normal hair is dryer than usual. I’ve read a bit about water quality really changing how successful no-pooing can be. Does anyone have any experience or feedback about going no-poo with hard water? Should I try some of the other options with baking soda or ACV if hard water can be more difficult? Mostly, I’m brand new to this and open to anything but a little nervous after reading the posts from people who have seen no results after months of no-pooing. Any and all advice welcome! Sending good energy to all, have a great day. :v::blush:

Great question! I went silicone-free and sulfate-free (low poo) several years ago and no poo in September 2017. I became highly concerned about water quality because we live in a hard water area. I bought litmus strips and, for a good few weeks, I used the water out of our condensing tumble dryer to rinse my hair because it was a good, low pH. But I admit, in time, I stopped bothering!

So at the moment, I mainly co-wash with silicone-free conditioners, and I don’t worry about the hard water because it’s too much trouble. We may, at some point, get a water softener, but they’re very expensive, so I’ve learnt to live with the water that comes out of our tap. My hair is naturally curly, so co-washing is quite good for it, and I’ve seen improvement just in stopping even low-poo shampoos and starting recommended products and natural conditioners.