Two months in and struggling with balancing it out

Hello everyone!! I’ve been doing the no poo movement for a couple months now and the bottom of my hair is super dry and the top is super oily. I want to style it but it’s such a mess. Is there any suggestions to what else I can do so I don’t have to wear my hair up forever? Is there like a conditioning agent I can use to balance it out?

A good bristle brush! I had the same issue, and the bristle brush helped evenly disperse my natural oils throughout my hair. Get a nice one that will last, and most importantly, clean the brush before every use! It has been a game changer for me.

3 Likes

Hi Melinda,

I have the same problem with the bottoms of my hair drying out sometimes. I apply a few drops of castor oil to my palms, rub my hands together to warm it up, then rub my hands and fingers through the bottom half of my hair working from the ends upwards. If any area one area looks oily after that, I comb all of my hair and keep massaging the hair follicles to disperse the oil evenly. My waist length long hair ends up looking shiny and clean with happy ends like I just got a new haircut.

I prefer castor oil but I’m sure olive oil and sesame oil would work well. I have trouble with coconut oil drying out my skin so I don’t put it on my hair.

I am concerned, though, that you describe the top of your hair as “super oily”. Was it like that before you started the no poo movement?

Best wishes,

PG.